A week’s worth of healthy meals: Courgette and Creme Fraiche Pasta

I know it’s a cliche to start off the the new year on a healthy note. It’s the reason Virgin Active gives away hundreds of red adidas backpacks if you join  at the beginning of the year (do they still do that?), and also the reason you see these backpacks on nearly everyone’s backs around Cape Town. Students, I observed, seemed to be particularly vulnerable, maybe because at that young age we believe a new year will cause us to become entirely new people. Like the type of people that actually go to gym regularly and eat healthily 90% of the time. And I, also being a student, am entirely guilty of this mind set, believing I might have a life-altering revelation that will cause me to be become like those few higher mortals. But, alas, like all normal and less-than-perfect people, I’m still stumbling after the first month. How could I make this year be different?

So I figured if I made it a type of project, to discover, try out and blog as many healthy meals as I could, it will appeal to the dominant foodie side of me. Now don’t get me wrong, I will still be making and enjoying home-baked cakes and forbidden foods like risotto and pasta and pizza. I mean, I tried out a new cake recipe just the other day. But I’m going to try and include as much fruit and as many vegetables as I possibly can into a meal, and do the whole yadda-yadda-moderation thing. And I share more of my cake, so my friends and family are happier too. It’s a win-win situation.

Monday starts with a healthy twist on my absolute starchy favourite: pasta. This recipe was actually thought up by my friend Daniela, who passed it on to my roommate, who kindly shared a bite and got me hooked. It fulfils all the requirements for a delicious meal, being starchy and cheesy and gooey, but also packs the wholegrain and vegetable dose in. It’s also incredibly quick to make, so it’s perfect for a weekday meal, and there’s very little cooking involved, i.e. less dishes to wash ! You see, a student at heart.

IMG_5622

Courgette and Creme Fraiche Pasta

Ingredients:

250g Wholewheat Pasta

2 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed

300g courgettes, grated

125g creme fraiche

1/2 chopped up green chilli (optional, and to taste)

Handful parmesan, to serve (optional)

Method:

Bring a pot of water with 1 Tbsp salt to the boil, then add the wholewheat pasta and garlic cloves and continue boiling until al dente (about 15 minutes).

Drain the pasta, leaving 2Tbsp of the cooking water over, and remove the garlic cloves. Add the grated courgette, creme fraiche and chilli, and continue cooking, continually tossing, until glossy and thick.

Season with salt and pepper to taste, then divide into bowls and sprinkle grated parmesan over.

Serves 3-4 people.

A little tip: As you might have noticed, when I write out a pasta recipe, I also include saving a little of the pasta cooking water, adding the sauce, and tossing over heat until glossy and thick. I’ve read over and over again that this is the secret to perfectly coated pasta like the restaurants make it.

IMG_5630

A note on courgettes:

Courgettes are one of my favourite vegetables, and not only because I have more than one name to to call it (zucchini and baby marrow can be substituted). It can be used in salads, stews, traditionally in ratatouille, but is often best sliced thinly, grilled, and served among braai meat or in salads (I have an amazing courgette, mint, pea and quinoa salad I’m intending on sharing sometime soon). A more exotic use of courgette involves the flowers, which can be stuffed, dipped in a batter, and deep fried, which is traditionally Italian. I’m on the lookout for them, as they’re usually only sold at fresh farmer’s markets, and not often in supermarkets, so I can try it out! Courgettes are well paired with chilli, garlic, mint and strong cheeses.

Leave a comment